State Legislative Committees Take Shape

At the start of every legislative session the new Speaker of the House and new Senate Majority Leader announce the committees, subcommittees, and committee members for their respective legislative bodies. Given the MDA’s priorities historically, the focus of MDA advocacy has been on the heath policy committees, insurance and financial services committees, and the appropriations committees and subcommittees in both the House and Senate. Late last week, the leadership of the Michigan Legislature announced the committees and their members for the 2023-24 legislative session.

Here are the committee lineups for the new legislative session:

Michigan House of Representatives

Health Policy Committee

  • Chair: Rep. Julie Rodgers (D-Kalamazoo)
  • Majority Vice-Chair: Rep. Karen Whitsett (D-Detroit)
  • Minority Vice-Chair: Rep. Curtis VanderWall (R-Ludington)

Insurance and Financial Services Committee

  • Chair: Rep. Brenda Carter (D-Pontiac)
  • Majority Vice-Chair: Rep. Mike McFall (D-Madison Heights)
  • Minority Vice-Chair: Rep. Mike Harris (R-Waterford)

Appropriations Subcommittee on Health and Human Services

  • Chair: Rep. Christine Morse (D-Texas Township)
  • Majority Vice-Chair: Rep. Jasper Martus (D-Flushing)
  • Minority Vice-Chair: Rep. Phil Green (R-Millington)

Michigan State Senate

Health Policy Committee

  • Chair: Sen. Kevin Hertel (D-St. Clair Shores)
  • Majority Vice Chair: Sen. Sylvia Santana (D-Detroit)
  • Minority Vice Chair: Sen. Michael Webber (R-Troy)

Finance, Insurance, and Consumer Protection Committee

  • Chair: Sen. Mary Cavanagh (D-Redford)
  • Majority Vice Chair: Sen. Jeremy Moss (D-Southfield)
  • Minority Vice Chair: Sen. Mark Huizenga (R-Walker)

Appropriations Subcommittee on Department of Health and Human Services

  • Chair: Sen. Sylvia Santana (D-Detroit)
  • Majority Vice-Chair: Sen. Kristen McDonald-Rivet (D-Bay City)
  • Minority Vice-Chair: Sen. Rick Outman (R-Six Lakes)