Skip to content

MDA Awards

Each year the MDA recognizes exceptional service to the public and the dental profession through its awards program. MDA awards are presented each year at the MDA Annual Session during the first session of the House of Delegates.

John G. Nolen Meritorious Award

The purpose of the award is to honor a dentist or other individual or organization for material contributions to the Michigan Dental Association or toward the advancement of the art and science of dentistry, or for contributions and activities of a nature which reflect great credit on the dental profession. This is the Michigan Dental Association's highest award and honor.

Details Application

Dr. Emmett C. Bolden Dentist Citizen of the Year Award

To give public recognition to a member of the Michigan Dental Association who has demonstrated outstanding or unusual contributions or service to community, state or country. The award may be used to recognize contributions to such areas as government, community economics, public welfare, or any area, which improves the community, state or nation. Professional contributions need not be considered for this award.

Details Application

Public Service Award

To recognize exceptional current contributions to the public and the dental profession in the field of dental health and related activities. This is an intra and extra professional public relations award that should serve not only to recognize current and past contributions, in order but also to stimulate further service by others. The award will be given for contributions that are above and beyond the usual functions of dental organization activity.

Details Application

Public Relations Award

To recognize the public relations efforts of an MDA member dentist or MDA component society.

Details Application

Matt Uday New Dentist Leadership Award

To recognize a new dentist that has demonstrated leadership qualities of such a substantial nature that they serve as a model for other new dentists. Nominees must have received their DDS or DMD degree in 2010 or later.

Details Application